The Order of The Planets

We use to have 9 planets in the solar system - until Pluto was dropped.

We’ve all heard it before; create a phonemic to help remember the order of the recently disputed eight planets. Mercury, Venus , Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune round of the list of the eight planets within our solar system. The planets each range in their composition, size, and are often accompanied by some odd and interesting scientific fact. The solar system consists of stars, planets, belts, asteroids, comets, meteors, and of course the sun. The sun in our solar system acts as the center and the focal point for the rotation of the eight planets.

Some individuals argue that there are a total of nine planets because of Pluto. However, in 2006 a universal vote was passed that demoted our distant and ice cold planet Pluto to a dwarf planet. Main evidence against this was because of the size of Pluto in comparison to its moon, Charon. In order for a planet to be defined as a planet, it must be large enough that the origin of its round shape must be due to its own force of gravity. Furthermore, a planet must orbit the sun and most arguably most importantly stand out amongst itself in the local neighborhood of its orbit.

The eight planets located in our solar system have all been visited or studied in some sort of another, whether it has been by spacecraft or by satellite imagery. As for planets that we have actually been able to land on, those only consist of Mars and Venus, which are also the two closest planets to earth.

Daily Moon Horoscope
Twitter | Facebook | Google+ | Contact Us | Terms of Use